Shawshank Redemption

2 03 2010

Out of the blue, I have recently decided to watch Shawshank Redemption again. Don’t ask me why… but I just felt like it 🙂

And to be honest, for the longest time whenever anyone have asked me what was the best movie I have watched before, Shawshank Redemption would be my answer. The typical response would be “What… tion?”, with an occasional “Great movie!!”.  To be fair, it’s not the most expensive movie EVER, it doesn’t have crazy action scenes, it doesn’t have fancy CGI, it didn’t win a whole lot of awards, (after talking about this over dinner with my wife, we both agree that these are the reason why it wasn’t popular) but it’s still the best movie I have ever watched!

Anyway, after watching the movie, I found out a few interesting facts:

  • it was released the same year as Forrest Gump (explains why it didn’t win any Academy Award)
  • it was initially not added in the AFI’s 100 Years… 100 Movies in 1998, but only added into the revised list nine year later at 2007
  • it is listed as #1 in IMDB out of 250, The God Father is #2
  • The film’s initial gross of $18 million didn’t even cover the cost of its production. It did another $10 million in the wake of its Oscar nominations but the film was still deemed to be a box office flop.

For those who haven’t watched this movie before find a way to get your hand on a copy and watch it!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2010
learning2live2010

My favorite movie as well… I love it.

4 03 2010
edwardteoh

should go watch it again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

