[ubuntu] Getting WebEx to work on 10.04

8 05 2010

Found out that WebEx is not working in the latest and greatest version of Ubuntu (Lucid Lynx, 10.04). After some digging around, it seems that Java from Sun is not installed by default, and Ubuntu has OpenJDK & IcedTea as the default Java plugin in Firefox. AND WebEx don’t play nice with IcedTea.

Below are the lines I have used in a terminal to get WebEx working 🙂

sudo apt-get remove icedtea6-plugin
sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ lucid partner"
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install sun-java6-jdk
sudo update-alternatives --config java
sudo apt-get install sun-java6-plugin

Good luck! And let me know if I might have missed out anything 😀

Actions

Information

11 responses

13 05 2010
shrinivasan

Thanks a lot man.

1. If I copy paste the line
sudo add-apt-repository “deb http://archive.canonical.com/ lucid partner”

It is not working.

I have to edit the double quotes manually.

2. sudo update-alternatives –config java

have to edit the — manually.

After this, webex works perfectly.

Thanks a lot.

13 05 2010
13 05 2010
edwardteoh

thanks for your feedback!
It seems that the wordpress was not displaying all the lines correctly. I have not fixed them 🙂

14 05 2010
Jeevaguru M

Thanks a lot mate. This worked awesome for me except for the first step where icedtea6-plugin was not installed for me in the first place. I use Kubuntu 10.04, btw.

-Jeeva

14 05 2010
[ubuntu] Lucid Lynx – DVD Writer Not Detected « Edward's Take

[…] certain extent. I have fixed issues such as slow wireless, wireless dropping all the time, and even WebEx. And today, I have finally gotten the DVD burner to […]

15 06 2010
mark

Thanks!!

21 06 2010
Rich

WebEx works now!

Thanks for sharing this info.

30 06 2010
Anthony

Thanks mate. Contemplating switching my company laptop to Ubuntu from XP, having a Webex working is a must. I just tested your setup on my home laptop and Webex worked flawlessly, thanks for sharing!

13 07 2010
James

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

24 07 2010
Alok

Thanks man! Worked like a song. Greatly appreciated.

20 08 2010
Steve

I just installed Google Chrome and Webex works great except no VOIP – still need to dial in or use Skype. Anybody have a solution for getting VOIP using Webex to work I’m all ears!

=Steve

Leave a Reply

