[ubuntu] Slow Wireless after Upgrading to 10.04

4 05 2010

I have recently upgrade to Ubuntu 10.04 a.k.a. Lucid Lynx, and have notice a significant drop in wireless speed. After dabbling about for a while and doing some google search, I have come to the answer šŸ˜›

Just run the command below and restart, and all should be well:

sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-wireless-lucid-generic

update [8th May 2010]: the latest update from Ubuntu has this by default. A quick update should solve the problem šŸ˜€

update[10th May 2010]: If you face problem with your wireless connection keeps dropping, and unable to connect back, please refer to my other blog post

BTW, if you have a CD/DVD in the CD/DVD drive, please remove it then restart. Else you might see the ksoftirqd/0 process hogging nearly 100% of your CPU.

Please refer to [ubuntu] Lucid Lynx Wireless Keep DroppingĀ (updated) for more updates. I will be updating the post as i find out more solution on the issue.


Actions

Information

3 responses

14 05 2010
[ubuntu] Lucid Lynx – DVD Writer Not Detected « Edward's Take

[…] is a LTS release, but it is starting to irritate me to a certain extent. I have fixed issues such as slow wireless, wireless dropping all the time, and even WebEx. And today, I have finally gotten the DVD burner […]

23 06 2010
marcus

did the trick for me, now it’s speedy again, thanks !

1 07 2010
THX!

This worked for me as well! Thank you!

Leave a comment