[ubuntu] Lucid Lynx Wireless Keep Dropping (updated)

10 05 2010

After enduring the endless wireless disconnection after upgrading to Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) I have finally found the solution!

The symptoms I was seeing is as such:

  1. connected
  2. after using for 5 minutes to 10 minutes, the wireless network manager get disconnected
  3. only wireless connection selectable is the last network you connect to
  4. unable to re-connect, even after 10 minutes
  5. you must disable the wireless and enable it before you can try to reconnect…
  6. then back to step 1

The steps below worked for me 🙂

  • sudo gedit /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf
  • set the “[ifupdown] managed=false” to true.

Although the above changes reduced the frequency of the wireless drop, but I am still facing it. After thinking it around a bit more, it’s more stable now. Below are what I have done:

  • sudo gedit /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf
  • Changed the file to:

[main]
plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

[ifupdown]
managed=true

[ifdown]
managed=true

[ifup]
managed=true

Good luck to you! And have fun with Lucid Lynx. Let me know if this works or if there are other better fix!

Added on June 28, 2010:

With with the fixes above, it has only lessen the problem on my machine and not totally eliminate it. Thanks for the comments on trying out wicd, which i did give it a try. BUT although the wireless connection didn’t drop at all for the 2 days which i have been using it, i see a cap on the wireless transmission rate of 60KB/s (even after trying “sudo iwconfig wlan0 rate 54M”, which is not the problem). This is not acceptable to me, which is why i sent back to using gnome network manager, but for those of you who want to try out wicd, below are the commands:

sudo apt-get install wicd

sudo apt-get remove network-manager

Drop me a message if you have a solution to the transmission rate cap!


Actions

Information

7 responses

11 05 2010
[ubuntu] Slow Wireless after Upgrading to 10.04 « Edward's Take

[…] update[10th May 2010]: If you face problem with your wireless connection keeps dropping, and unable to connect back, please refer to my other blog post […]

12 05 2010
14 05 2010
[ubuntu] Lucid Lynx – DVD Writer Not Detected « Edward's Take

[…] but it is starting to irritate me to a certain extent. I have fixed issues such as slow wireless, wireless dropping all the time, and even WebEx. And today, I have finally gotten the DVD burner to […]

14 06 2010
Chris

I tried the solutions listed here, but still the problem persisted.

Eventually I uninstalled network-manager and installed wicd. Now everything works fine.

18 06 2010
Uranio23

Mmm thats something weird … thought I havo some other strange problem.
My Ubuntu 10.04 keeps doing the same thing each time that i boot the system.
After some time working on it, suddenly the system becomes slow, so slow that I just can restart X by Ctrl+Alt+Backspace …

After that, all goes as fast as it should…

27 06 2010
karim

I went with wicd but I still have the same problem with wireless.

19 09 2010
Kalogerus

Thank you very much. switchin to wicd fixed my problem or thats what it appears to be. but its strange u get 60kb/s instead of 54 mps as my speed is 54 without changing anything… this is a very annoying problem

Leave a comment